In partnership with the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Ford Foundation, and the Henry Luce Foundation, the PHSHR Network is an international group of leaders from industry, civil society, government and academia, that work together on building frameworks that map and address the risks, opportunities, and challenges posed by the public health surveillance crucial to stemming the Covid-19 pandemic.

Network Members

Joseph Ali
Assistant Professor and Associate Director for Global Programs, Berman Institute of Bioethics
Johns Hopkins University
Joe Amon
Clinical Professor and Director of the Office of Global Health, Dornsife School of Public Health
Drexel University
Matthias Bäcker
University Professor and Chair of Public Law
Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Natalie Banner
Understanding Patient Data Lead
Wellcome Trust
Jason Bay
Senior Director (Government Digital Services)
GovTech Singapore
Khadine Bennet
Director, Advocacy and Intergovernmental Affairs
ACLU of Illinois
Sutawan Chanprasert
Andrew Chen
Research Fellow, Koi Tū: The Centre for Informed Futures
University of Auckland
Joshua Cohen
Apple University Faculty and Distinguished Senior Fellow in Law, Philosophy, and Political Science
University of California
Emma Day
Human Rights Lawyer & Child Protection Consultant
UNICEF East Asia & Pacific Regional Office
Ron Deibert
Professor of Political Science and Director, Citizen Lab
University of Toronto
Lilian Edwards
Professor of Law and Chair of Law, Innovation and Society
Newcastle University
Johannes Ernst
President and CEO
Indie Computing Corp.
Michael Flowers
Senior Fellow, Office of Innovation
State of New Jersey
Camille François
Chief Innovation Officer
Sharon Bradford Franklin
Policy Director, Open Technology Institute
New America
Urs Gasser
Professor of Practice and Executive Director, Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society
Harvard University
Gregg Gonsalves
Professor of Epidemiology
Yale University
Graham Greenleaf
Professor of Law & Information Systems
University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia
Henri Hammond-Paul
Research Fellow
Jeffrey Kahn
Andreas C. Dracopoulos Director of the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics
Johns Hopkins University
Amy Kapczynski
Professor of Law
Yale University
Karen Kee
Assistant Director, International & Community Development
Technology Management Office, GovTech Singapore
Sir David King
Chair, Independent Sage
University of Cambridge
Christopher Kirchhof
Senior Fellow
Schmidt Futures
Mark Latonero
Senior Researcher
Data & Society
Fredrik Liljeros
Professor of Sociology
Stockholm University
Mary Madden
Senior Fellow, Joan Ganz Cooney Center
The Sesame Workshop
Beth Simone Noveck
Chief Innovation Officer
State of New Jersey
Kyung Sin Park
Professor of Law and Executive Director,
Korea University
Frank Pasquale
Professor of Law
Brooklyn Law School
Sobia Raza
Senior Fellow
The Health Foundation
Stephen Reicher
Bishop Wardlaw Professor
University of St. Andrews
Hilary Ross
Senior Program Manager, Assembly: Disinformation Program
Harvard University
Piotr Sapieżyński
Associate Research Scientist, Khoury College of Computer Sciences
Northeastern University
Adam Steventon
Director of Data Analytics
The Health Foundation
Nicole Triplett
Director of Policy
Data for Black Lives
Stefaan Verhulst
Co-Founder and Chief Research and Development Officer, Governance Laboratory
New York University
Jonathan Zittrain
George Bemis Professor of International Law, Co-Founder and Director, Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society
Harvard University

SSRC Staff

David A. Banks
Associate Research Advisor
Public Health, Surveillance, and Human Rights Network
Alexa S. Dietrich
Program Director
Scholarly Borderlands
Rebecca Tave Gluskin
Chief Statistician and Deputy Director
Measure of America
Clara Hanson
Associate Research Advisor
Public Health, Surveillance, and Human Rights Network
Ronald Kassimir
Vice President of Programs
Social Science Research Council
Renee King
Associate Research Advisor
Public Health, Surveillance, and Human Rights Network and Measure of America
Alondra Nelson
Social Science Research Council
Duncan Omanga
Program Officer
African Peacebuilding Network
Michael Miller
Program Director
Just Tech
Vina Tran
Chief of Staff
Social Science Research Council